Skip to content

The Illin' Music Thread

in a few words, explain what this site is about

I love Totally Nebular. I’ve basically been listening to these three crazy kids from Florida non-stop all week. Their weird melange of indie rock, electro, Animal Collective-esque loops, and psychedelia played at rocketship speeds makes Totally Nebular buckets of fun to listen to.

I downloaded their debut album Boat Boat and was immediately struck by how they seem like me. Not in terms of the music I make or listen to or anything. It’s more like I feel as though I completely understand the sources from which they drew to make their music. I was born in 1989, and the whole 1980s nostalgia of the 00’s is lost on me. I feel as though myself and people my age have started to figure out that the whole 1980s pastiche thing of the last decade is wearing pretty thin. How can we identify with a feeling that we weren’t around to feel?

That’s where Totally Nebular comes in. To me, they sound like getting that Nintento 64 in ’96, or like going to the carnival in ’98, or like eating watermelon in ’95. They sound like things I can understand and identify with. They sound like the cheesy keyboard bells and whistles, playing a SNES simulator on my parents’ slow desktop computer, and going to the pool with my brothers.

Totally Nebular will make you feel good. I posted a link to their music video for “Captain Benson” above. It’s pretty good! And if you want to download their debut album Boat Boat, click here! My favorite songs are “Green Tops”, “Captain Benson”, and “Fred & Doe”. Check it out!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

