Skip to content

The Illin' Music Thread

in a few words, explain what this site is about

I’m not sure I remember how I learned about Thick Shakes. My friend Sei (always the Sei Harris!) has been playing a lot of garage rock in his car recently, and I guess it rubbed off on me a bit. They were the Boston Phoenix’s Song Of The Week a while ago, too.

I’m not really sure why I’m trying to remember where I learned about these dudes, because it doesn’t really matter–the band kicks ass. They’re two dudes and a lady from Somerville, MA. The music is just so much fun to listen to. It’s really sloppy, grimy garage rock. Fuzzed out guitars, retro basslines and energetic drumming makes listening to Thick Shakes SO FUN. In another review on Heads Up Boston, one can see a correlation between their recording process and how fun their music is:

We did the whole thing in a weekend, and it was a ball. Jerry MacDonald recorded us at the Shop in Weymouth, he is a good friend of ours who understands our tastes. We showed up to his studio and he pulled out a box of homemade telephone mics. He had a way of making us sound like I hoped we sound but wasn’t sure, and brought out new things too. He gets a kind of sadistic grin on his face when figuring out how to coax things into even fuzzier and messier places. Some people warned us that recording is a grueling process that will make us hate our music and each other, but I suspect I might have found a loophole in doing this with my boyfriend and best friend. No drama, just pizza.

No drama, just pizza. Fucking awesome. The fun they had recording this literally leaks out your headphones.

It’s just good old honest feel-good rock n’ roll. Thick Shakes has taken the heritage of garage rock and given it an update, bringing the genre into the modern era without giving up what makes the genre inherently fun to listen to and without being all smarmy and obnoxious about it like Jet. FUCK JET

In any case, Thick Shakes kick ass, and you should download their music! In fact, here are some download links for some of their songs!!

My two favorite songs are “(Baby) You’re a Starfish” and “Julie K”. Although sometimes I have no idea what the fuck the lyrics are, I can’t help but sing along anyways. Baby you’re a star, baby you’re a star, baby you’re a starfish.

Click here to download “(Baby) You’re a Starfish” off of Thick Shakes’ new album Ooh Mommy!

Click here to download “Julie K”!

Tags: , , , , ,

