Skip to content

The Illin' Music Thread

in a few words, explain what this site is about

Wow it’s been a long time!  Things change pretty fast in college, and a month can feel like a day.  Lots of stuff has happened since my my post.  Way too much to say here.  We all need to video chat or something soon!

Anyway, one of the things in the immediate future that I am looking forward to is the annual Meddies tour.  One week of singing at a different college almost every night brings a lot of driving, debauchery, and of the course the soundtrack to accompany all of this craziness.  Enter: The White Panda.  These guys have been putting up some sick mash-ups on their site, and you can download them all for free! I have never been one to love mash-ups, as I generally think they’re the derivative products of talentless hacks, but these ones are absolutely awesome.

My friend and fellow Meddie, Brian, introduced me to this song in his car the other day and my mind was subsequently blown.  Who knew Eminem could actually sound good?  Listen to that sweet, upwardly moving synth riff and the way the song explodes after that grooving solo guitar riff.  YES!  Do your self a favor and check out The White Panda’s unbelievably sweet mash-up of Eminem’s “Superman” and Bag Raiders’ “Shooting Stars“:  “Shooting Superstars”

Almost all of the snow is gone in Maine and spring is basically here.  This feeling of the incoming new season is one of my favorite moments of the entire year.  This is my new spring jam.  Yes, oh yes.

Tags: , , , , , ,

