Skip to content

The Illin' Music Thread

in a few words, explain what this site is about

For many of us, the words ‘Final Fantasy’ probably evoke (hopefully distant) memories of hours on end spent glued to a Playstation, plugging away at a never-ending series of role-playing games.

Owen Pallett, a Canadian violinist/composer/singer is trying to have something to do with changing that.  Final Fantasy is Owen’s recent solo project and an outfit under which he has released two full albums and plans on dropping a third, Heartland, on January 12th, 2010.  His music is an interesting blend of classical compositions flavored with soaring, poppy melodies and harmonies as well as a touch of an indie “I don’t give a fuck” kind of attitude.

I have to say that I don’t tend to subscribe to each and every indie music  trend that comes along.  To be honest, a lot of recent ‘indie’ bands sound too similar to me for them to leave a lasting impression.  Final Fantasy, in my opinion, brings something different to the table.  I might not be able to tell you exactly why I can’t stop listening to this guy, so I can only hope  that you will feel the same.

This is the Dream of Win & Regime

He Poos Clouds

Lewis Takes Action

