Skip to content

The Illin' Music Thread

in a few words, explain what this site is about

So here’s the story. Last January, when I was home from school for Winter Term, that glorious period when a student doesn’t spend a whole month in the Ohio Winter, we went to Club Passim a lot for open mic nights. One of those nights, a short cute girl went up to the piano and basically blew everybody away. I spent a long time that night attempting to figure out how to spell her name to find her online (it’s pronounced [nI-lIs] for those of you who know IPA, and Nih-liss for those who don’t). When I did, I discovered on her touring schedule that she was playing in Oberlin on some random night in March.

Flash forward 2 months: It’s the night of Stephanie Nilles’ performance. I ask lots of people to go, but everybody is busy studying and generally being lame; I don’t care though because I’m just really excited. I walk over to the Cat in the Cream, the coffeehouse/delicious fresh cookie place on campus, order a chocolate chip cookie and a glass of milk, and sit down at a table near the piano. Well, 8 o’clock rolls around, and nobody else has shown up. Stephanie walks up onto the stage, sits down at the piano, looks around at her audience of one, and starts to play. She was incredible, as expected, and afterward we chatted for a while and bought her EP even though she tried to give it to me for free.

Flash forward to last Wednesday: She came to play at Oberlin again! This time, I got about 15 other people to come, and some more came too. By the end, there were 10 left, but that’s ok! It was a really good time, and afterward we chatted again and I bought her new CD.

The new CD, called The Off-White Album & Waltzes in the Key of Gypsy McGee, is really good, but I liked the old one more. It’s a little more produced and more political than the previous one, reDemo. Some of the tracks are the same, but rerecorded.

Anyway, here’s a track from the old CD, and one from the new CD!

From reDemo:

My Favorite Things

From The Off-White Album & Waltzes in the Key of Gypsy McGee:

Beacon of Liberty

If you guys like them, I’ll post both albums. She told me to spread them around, so I’m more than willing! Enjoy!

Love,

Lucas

