Skip to content

The Illin' Music Thread

in a few words, explain what this site is about

I’ve been digging through music from the past, as evidenced in my previous post, and I recently returned to listening to a band that is very near and dear to my heart.  Coming from an Irish background, I cannot help but feel a great deal of kinship with bands from the North or the Republic.  Hearing this, most people would think immediately of U2, but I can only think of the one and only Thin Lizzy.

The first Thin Lizzy album I ever owned was “Live and Dangerous,” a live album that was barely live at all.  After recording concerts in London and Toronto, the band began to listen back to the tracks and rerecord various sections of the vocals.  This eventually led to the entire overdubbing of the previous guitar, bass, and vocal tracks.  Basically, “Live and Dangerous” is only 50 percent correct, because although the album is hardly live, it captures the band’s ferocious energy and incredible live dynamics that no studio album could contain.  It is even rumored that U2 studied this album in order to emulate bassist/vocalist Phil Lynott’s amazing interactions with the audience.

The track I’ve chosen is not one of the more famous ones.  A fairly long and lugubrious power ballad, “Still In Love With You” takes a while to build up, but once it arrives, it arrives with force.  The searing guitar solos and intertwining lead lines between Scott Gorham and Brian Robertson are melodic yet face-melting.  Yes, that is true.  Just listen, and once the solos start, you’ll know what I mean.  Gabe and Grant, I think you will particularly enjoy the solos!

Also, here is a link to an incredible live version of my absolute favorite Lizzy tune, The Cowboy Song, which segues right into arguably their most famous song, The Boys are Back in Town.

Tags: , , , , ,

