Skip to content

The Illin' Music Thread

in a few words, explain what this site is about

Ah, the beginning of a new school year.  The copious buying of school utensils, the nervous arrival of freshman, and the hope that you can make it through another semester of all-nighters.  With the coming of the new school year, I thought I’d share some songs that remind me of the beginnings of each of my previous years of school.  My connection with any kind of music is based largely on my mood, so fittingly, each song evokes the mood at the beginning of each of its respective year of school:

Freshman Year of High School: “Solo Tonight” by Race The Sun.

So I was pretty emo freshman year, and I have to admit that I really loved this song and still do.  It has a great melody and a ton of energy.  Now sadly defunct, Race The Sun had a few other great songs off of their only album, The Rest of Our Lives is Tonight.

Sophomore Year of High School: “American Low” by Cassino.  One of the few songs that I have ever heard talk so honestly and empathetically about homelessness.  I listened to this about fifty times for the music alone before I even started to pick up on what the lyrics meant.  Really powerful.  This version is the original Demo version, NOT the one that appears on their full-length album, Sounds of Salvation.

Junior Year of High School: “It’s Been A Blast” by Hey Mercedes.

Another band that has since broken up, Hey Mercedes was once composed of guys from other godfathers of the genre, including Braid.  I really love some of the images and lines in this song.  “Remember one night in your parents’ ride under the light of the passing airplanes?”  “So bottle, never fear ’cause I’ve commandeered the number of your new beau’s home.” Great stuff.

Senior Year of High School: “The Permanent Rain” by The Dangerous Summer

This song can most recently be seen in the trailer for the upcoming romantic comedy, “Love Happens” with Jennifer Aniston and Aaron Eckhart.  Hearing this song in the trailer before 500 Days of Summer was pretty weird.  I was very surprised and reminded how much I like this song, especially the delay-laden guitar intro and Motown-esque guitar line behind the verse.

Freshman Year of College: “Bastards of Young” by The Replacements

I straight up love this song.  The fist-pumping, beers in the air feeling of the chorus, the great lyrics and the totally pissed off feeling throughout.  Although the song is over 20 years old, it still feels so relevant and it’s interesting that it’s the only song on this list to not be very contemporary.

Well that’s my beginning of the year round up!  What songs remind you guys of the beginning of each new year of school?

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

